Mission

Print
The mission of the Belgian Investment Company for Developing Countries (BIO) is to support a strong private sector in developing and/or emerging countries, to enable them to gain access to growth and sustainable development with the aim to achieving the Millennium Development Goals.

BIO invests directly in private sector projects and as such makes a structural contribution to the socio-economic growth of those host countries. Its mandate requires strict criteria in terms of geographical targets, financing tools and, above all, impact on development.

 

In developing countries, the informal economy is proof of great dynamism; however access to long-term finance and capital, without which companies cannot grow, is limited or impossible for a large chunk of the population. In fact, the banking system is often unsuited to the needs of small entrepreneurs and does not allow the emergence of income-generating activities.

Support for the private sector is therefore an essential link in the development cooperation chain, as it drives economic growth. By producing goods and services, local enterprises help improve the population’s living standards, accelerate technological developments and lower prices by stimulating competition and increasing the country’s tax base, which is essential for financing infrastructures, education and health.

Back

Mission

Imprimer
La Société belge d’Investissement pour les Pays en Développement (BIO) a pour mission de favoriser la mise en place d’un secteur privé fort dans les pays en développement et émergents, pour leur permettre d’accéder à une croissance et à un développement durables, dans le cadre de la réalisation des Objectifs de Développement Durable.

BIO investit directement dans des projets du secteur privé et apporte ainsi une contribution structurelle à la croissance socio-économique des pays d’accueil. Son mandat lui impose des critères stricts en matière de cibles géographiques, d’outils de financement et surtout, d’impact sur le développement.

Dans les pays en développement, l'économie informelle fait preuve d’un grand dynamisme, mais l’accès aux financements et aux capitaux à long terme, base sur laquelle repose la croissance des entreprises, est limité voire impossible pour une large frange de la population. En effet, le système bancaire est souvent inadapté à la demande des petits entrepreneurs et ne permet pas l'émergence d'activités créatrices de revenus.

Le soutien au secteur privé est donc un maillon indispensable de la coopération au développement car il joue un rôle de moteur dans la croissance économique. Les entreprises locales, en produisant des biens et services, contribuent à améliorer le niveau de vie de la population, à accélérer les développements technologiques, à faire baisser les prix en stimulant la concurrence et à augmenter la base fiscale du pays, condition indispensable pour financer les infrastructures, l’éducation et la santé.

Retour